Log in

Follow us


Subscribe to our mailing list.

  • Home
  • Awards
  • Best Practices in Education Award

Best Practices in Education Award

To promote teaching quality in Informatics, Informatics Europe every year presents the Best Practices in Education Award.

The Award recognizes outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of Informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and that can be applied beyond their institutions of origin.

The 2016 Award

The ALaDDIn project, proposed by Carlo Bellettini, Violetta Lonati, Dario Malchiodi, Mattia Monga, Anna Morpurgo and Massimo Santini, from the ALaDDIn working group at the Computer Science Department, UniversitĂ  degli Studi di Milano, Italy, is the winner of the 2016 Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award. The Award was presented during the  12th European Computer Science Summit (ECSS 2016) in Budapest, Hungary, October 2016.

Read the winning Award submission.


 From left to right: Michael E. Caspersen,  Anna Morpurgo, Mattia Monga, Lynda Hardman.

The 2016 Award is devoted to curriculum and professional development initiatives that promote Informatics in schools as a mandatory subject for all students. Initiatives at the (upper) secondary level are particularly encouraged. The Award honors original contributions that focus on teaching Informatics fundamentals in schools. Experiences on using software or hardware tools to improve learning in other disciplines than Informatics are not considered.

About the Award

The Award is sponsored by Microsoft and carries a prize of  5,000

The Award can be given to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the Council of Europe (www.coe.int), or Israel. Members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award Committee are not eligible.

The Award Committee will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals (individuals or teams).

Award Committee:

  • Michael E. Caspersen, Aarhus University (Chair)
  • Gerard Berry, Collège de France
  • Muffy Calder, University of Glasgow
  • Judith Gal-Ezer, The Open University of Israel
  • Mark Guzdial, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Lauri Malmi, Aalto University
  • Carsten Schulte, Paderborn University
  • Letizia Tanca, Politecnico di Milano