Log in

Follow us


Subscribe to our mailing list.

2011 Curriculum Best Practices Award

Parallelism and Concurrency

November 2011 - The winners of the 2011 Curriculum Best Practices Award for Parallelism and Concurrency have been presented during the ECSS 2011 in Milan, Italy. A team from Germany led by Georg Hager, Gerhard Wellein, and Jan Treibig from the Erlangen Regional Computing Center and the Department of Computer Science at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg and a team from Russia led by Victor Gergel and Vladimir Voevodin, from Nizhni Novgorod State and Lomonosov Moscow State University received the Award during a special ceremony where they also presented and discussed the achievements of their educational efforts in the area of Parallelism and Concurrency.

Victor Gergel and Vladimir Voevodin received the award for the proposal “Parallelism & Concurrency: Changing the Landscape of IT-Education” praised by the evaluation committee “For the development of a broad and significant project to develop curriculum materials for parallelism and concurrency.”

The impact of their activities in developing the curricula, programs and courses for the  improvement of education in the sphere of Parallelism and Concurrency is diverse and versatile. The textbooks published by the team are actively used in several Russian universities; numerous educational events (conferences, schools, seminars, educational programs), based on the developed training materials, have been organized and collaboration with leading IT companies and industrial organizations have been established. Only in 2010 more than 400 people had training in Parallelism and Concurrency within the project's scope. The participants of the project published 6 textbooks and tutorials in 2009-2010.  The developed courses and training materials were used for holding annually two youth schools, focused on the issues of Parallelism and Concurrency, and three conferences. Probation of the developed materials is carried out by the authors in the frames of educational programs of the three Competence Centers and in the large-scale Presidential Program of training specialists on supercomputing technologies.

More information about the group's activities:


Georg Hager, Gerhard Wellein and Jan Treibig received the award for the proposal “Teaching High Performance Computing to Scientists and Engineers: A Model-Based Approach” praised by the evaluation committee “For the development of a complete set of material for teaching programming of high-performance computers.”

The team's unique approach that combines the classic areas of parallelization and code optimization with the rational use of performance models is conveyed not only in lectures, but also in international workshops and tutorials. In 2010, Georg Hager and Gerhard Wellein published the textbook “Introduction to High Performance Computing for Scientists and Engineers,” which is meanwhile recommended reading for many courses worldwide in the field of scientific and high performance computing. Its widespread acceptance clearly shows the impact of the team's work on teaching activities outside their own university.

More information about the group's activities:



The photos below show the winners Georg Hager and Jan Treibig (top), Victor Gergel and Vladimir Voevodin (bottom) with representatives from Informatics Europe (Bertrand Meyer, President, Mark Harris, Board Member) and Intel (Carlo Parmeggiani) during the Award Ceremony in Milan.

IMG 7145

IMG 7140






















August 2011 - The winners of the 2011 Curriculum Award were chosen by the committee of top international Concurrency and Parallelism experts, chaired by Prof. Michel Raynal from IRISA. Two proposals have been selected and the winners will be publicly announced at the 7th European Computer Science Summit in Milan, during the Award Ceremony, where they will present the results of their curriculum projects.

March 2011 - First Call for Participation

Informatics Europe is proud to announce the 2011 Curriculum Best Practices Award, devoted to curriculum initiatives in the area of Parallelism and Concurrency.

The Informatics Europe Curriculum Best Practices Award recognizes outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and can be applied and extended beyond their institutions of origin. The Award will reward a successful teaching effort in Europe that:

  • has made a measurable difference in the teaching of parallelism and concurrency;
  • is widely available for reuse by the teaching community;
  • has made a measurable impact in its original institution and beyond it.

Examples of impact include: course results, industry collaboration, student projects, textbooks, influence on the curriculum of other universities.

The 2011 Award is devoted to curriculum initiatives in the general area of parallelism and concurrency.It is funded through a generous grant from Intel Corporation.

The Award carries a prize of EUR 30,000.00.

The Award can be awarded to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the Council of Europe, or Israel. Members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award Committee are not eligible. The Award Committee will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals (individuals or teams).

The proposal should include:

  • Names and addresses of the applicant or applicants;
  • Indication of whether the submission is on behalf of an individual or a group;
  • Description of the achievements (max 5 pages);
  • Evidence of availability of the curriculum's materials to the teaching community (max 2 pages);
  • Evidence of impact (max 5 pages);
  • Up to 5 letters of support. The letter of support will play an important role in the evaluation and may come from (for example) department management, academic colleagues in the same or another institution, industry colleagues;
  • A reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material) (max 3 pages).

Submissions are closed!

Important Deadlines:

  • Abstract: May 1, 2011
  • Full proposal: June 1, 2011
  • Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2011

The Award will be presented at the European Computer Science Summit, in Milan, 07-09 November 2011. The winner or winners (one representative in the case of an institution) will be invited to give a talk on their achievements in the ECSS 2011.

Award Committee:

  • Michel Raynal, IRISA/University of Rennes 1 (chair)
  • Gregor Engels, University of Paderborn (vice-chair)
  • Gregory Andrews, University of Arizona
  • Mordechai Ben-Ari, Weizmann Institute
  • Thomas Gross, ETH Zurich
  • Dan Grossman, University of Washington
  • Rachid Guerraoui, EPF Lausanne
  • Mark Harris, Intel
  • Jeff Kramer, Imperial College
  • Walter Tichy, University of Karlsruhe
  • Akinori Yonezawa, University of Tokyo

Available for download: