Log in

Follow us


Subscribe to our mailing list.

2014 Best Practices in Education Award

Informatics Education in Primary and Secondary Schools

October 2014 - Award Winner and Ceremony at the ECSS 2014

The winner of the 2014 Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award was presented during a special ceremony at the ECSS 2014 in Wroclaw, Poland.

The Computing At School initiative was the winner of the 2014 Best Practices in Education Award, organized by Informatics Europe and sponsored by Microsoft, with focus this year on Informatics Education in Primary and Secondary Schools.

The Award ceremony was held in Wroclaw, as part of the ECSS 2014 program, where the winner had the opportunity to present the achievements of their educational efforts.

The winner was selected by a committee composed of top international experts chaired by Prof. Gerard Berry from College de France. A number of excellent proposals were received by the committee, which had the difficult task to select the winner in the evaluation process that run from March to August 2014.

The initiative Computing At School (CAS), submitted by Simon Peyton-Jones, Chair of CAS Working Group and Sue Sentance, CAS National Academic Coordinator, received the award for its outstanding achievements which resulted in computing  being officially established as a mandator subject for primary and high schools in the national curriculum of England. More details about the proposal can be found here.

The photo below shows Simon Humphreys (middle) and Mark Dorling (right) who represented CAS at the Award Ceremony together with Carlo Ghezzi, President of Informatics (left), Gerard Berry Chair of the 2014 Award Committee (second left) and Judith Bishop, representing the Award sponsor, Microsoft.

 DSC 0990


October 2014 - Winner to be announced at ECSS 2014 on October 15th at 9:45 (CET)


August 2014 -  Winner Selected

The winner of the 2014 Best Practices in Education Award was selected by the experts of the award committee, chaired by Prof. Gérard Berry (Collège de France). One outstanding submission has been selected and the winner will be publicly announced at the ECSS 2014 in Wroclaw, during a special Award Ceremony, where a summary of the project and its achievements will be presented.


March 2014 - Call for Participation


Informatics Europe proudly announces its 2014 Best Practices in Education Award devoted to initiatives promoting informatics education in primary and secondary schools.

The Informatics Europe Best Practices in Education Award recognizes outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and can be applied and extended beyond their institutions of origin.

As in 2013, the Award will reward a successful teaching effort in Europe that:

  • has made a measurable difference in informatics education in schools
  • is widely applicable and useful for the teaching community
  • has made a measurable impact in its original institution and beyond it

The 2014 Award is devoted to curriculum initiatives for promoting informatics in schools as a mandatory subject for all students. The Award will honor original contributions who emphasize successful initiatives for teaching of informatics fundamentals in schools. Experiences and reports showing how to use software or hardware tools in order to improve learning in other disciplines than informatics will not be considered.

Examples of impact include course results, student projects, textbooks, influence on the curriculum of other schools.

The 2014 Award is devoted to curriculum initiatives promoting informatics education in primary and secondary schools and funded through a generous grant from Microsoft.

The Award carries a prize of EUR 5,000.00

The Award can be given to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the Council of Europe (www.coe.int), or Israel. Members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award Committee are not eligible.

The Award Committee will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals (individuals or teams).

Proposals should be submitted only at:


The proposal should include:

  • Names and addresses of the applicant or applicants;
  • Indication of whether the submission is on behalf of an individual or a group;
  • Description of the achievements (max 5 pages);
  • Evidence of availability of the curricula materials to the teaching community (max 2 pages);
  • Evidence of impact (max 5 pages);
  • A reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);
  • One or two letters of support. The letters of support may come for example from school management or colleagues in the same or another institution.


  • Abstract: May 1, 2014
  • Full proposal: June 1, 2014
  • Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2014  ---- NEW DEADLINE: AUGUST 8, 2014

The Award will be presented at the 10th European Computer Science Summit, in Wroclaw, 13-15 October 2014, where the winner or winners (one representative in the case of an institution) will be invited to give a talk on their achievements.

Award Committee:

  • Gérard Berry, Collège de France (Chair)
  • Michael Caspersen, University of Aarhus
  • Barbara Demo, University of Torino
  • Michael Fourman, University of Edinburgh
  • Avi Mendelson, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
  • Maciej Sysło, University of Wrocław & UMK, Toruń
  • Jan Vahrenhold, University of Münster

Further inquiries:

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.