Log in

Follow us


Subscribe to our mailing list.

2016 Minerva Informatics Equality Award

The Computer Science Department at University College London (UCL), UK, is the winner of the first Minerva Informatics Equality Award for its comprehensive gender policy, the diversity of initiatives put in place as well as the strong evidence of positive impact. The Award was presented during the  12th European Computer Science Summit (ECSS 2016) in Budapest, Hungary, October 2016. Read the winning Award submission.

The 2016 Award is devoted to gender equality initiatives and policies to develop the careers of female faculty. It celebrates successful initiatives that have had a measurable impact on the careers of women within the institution. On the photo: Lynda Hardman (left) and Alexandra Silva (right).


About the 2016 Minerva Award

The Award is sponsored by Google and carries a prize of 5,000 EUR.

The Award is given to a Department or Faculty to be used for further work on promoting gender equality. To be eligible, nominated institutions must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the Council of Europe, or Israel. Institutions associated with members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award Committee are not eligible.

The Award Committee reviews and evaluates each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals.

Award Committee

  • Micheline Beaulieu, Emeritus Professor of Information Science, University of Sheffield, UK (Chair)
  • Erika Abraham, Professor of Hybrid Systems, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Luca Aceto, Professor of Computer Science, Reykjavik University, Iceland
  • Christine Choppy, Professor of Logic, Calculi and Reasoning, University of Paris Nord, France
  • John Clark, Professor of Critical Systems, University of York, UK
  • Dunja Mladenic, Professor of Artificial Intelligence, Jozef Stefan Institute, Slovenia
  • Pierangela Samarati, Professor of Information Technologies, University of Milan, Italy

Click here for the 2016 Call for submissions