ECSS 2017

Conference Program

Oct. 23           Oct. 24             Oct. 25

Venue: Rectorate Building of the NOVA University of Lisbon - Campus de Campolide - 1099-085 Lisboa

  • 23.10.17 - Pre-Summit Workshop for Deans and Department Heads (Auditorium)
  • 23.10.17 - Welcome Reception
  • 24/25.10.17 - ECSS Main Conference (Auditorium)
  • 24.10.17 - Conference Dinner at 'Aura Restaurant' (Praça do Comércio | Terreiro do Paço, Lisboa 1100-148)

Monday, 23 October 2017

09:00-17:00  Pre-Summit Workshop for Deans and Department Heads

19:00  ECSS 2017 Welcome Reception

Tuesday, 24 October 2017

8:30-09:00  Registration

09:00-09:15  Welcome and Introduction

  • Lynda Hardman (President of Informatics Europe, CWI and Utrecht University) and Luís Caires (Universidade NOVA de Lisboa) - ECSS 2017 Chairs
  • Markus Püschel (ETH Zurich) and José Luiz Fiadeiro (Royal Holloway University of London) - ECSS 2017 Program Chairs

09.15-10.30  Session 1

Session Chair: Jim Larus (EPFL)

  • 09.15-09.45 Kurt Mehlhorn - Max Planck Institute for Informatics, University of Saarland and ERC
    "The European Research Council"
  • 09.45-10.30 Elham Kashefi - University of Edinburgh
    "Entrapping Nature"

10.30-11.00  Coffee Break

11:00-12:30  Session 2

Session Chair: Hélène Kirchner (INRIA)

  • 11:00-11:45 Marie-Paule Cani - Ecole Polytechnique
    "Across Disciplines: Towards Expressive 3D Modeling for Visual Communication"
  • 11:45-12:30 Nuno Correia - Universidade NOVA de Lisboa
    "Interactive Systems in Cultural Heritage and Creative Industries"

12:30-13:30  Lunch

13:30-15:00  Session 3

Session Chair: Jane Hillston (University of Edinburgh)

  • 13:30-14:15 Wendy Hall - University of Southampton 
    "Making Connections Across Interdisciplinary Boundaries: Observatories and Data Analytics for Web Science"
  • 14:15-15:00  Roberto Di Cosmo - INRIA - Université Paris Diderot
    "Software Heritage: Building an Essential Facility for the Digital Age"

15:00-15:30  Coffee Break

15:30-16:30  Informatics Europe - ERCIM 2017 Awards Ceremony (Public Session)

2017 Best Practices in Education Award (sponsored by Microsoft Research)

    • 15:30-15:50 Winner Announcement, followed by short talk by the winner representatives

2nd Minerva Informatics Equality Award (sponsored by Google)

    • 15:50-16:10 Winner Announcement, followed by short talk by the winner representatives

ERCIM Cor Baayen Award Ceremony (sponsored by ERCIM)

    • 16:10-16:30 Winner Announcement (Domenico Laforenza - President ERCIM), followed by short talk by the Laureate

16:30-17:15  Special Session Informatics Europe Activities

Session Chair: Cristina Pereira - Informatics Europe

    • Informatics4All - Michael Caspersen, Aarhus University/Enrico Nardelli, University of Rome "Tor Vergata"
    • Working Group Women in Informatics Research and Education - Jane Hillston, University of Edinburgh
    • Working Group on Research Evaluation - Floriana Esposito, University of Bari

17:15-18:45  Informatics Europe Annual General Assembly

Session Chairs: Lynda Hardman (President), Cristina Pereira (Secretary General)

19:30-22:00  Conference Dinner at 'Aura Restaurant' (Praça do Comércio | Terreiro do Paço, Lisboa 1100-148)


Wednesday, 25 October 2017

08:30-09:00  Registration

09:00-10:30  Session 4

Session Chair: Gregor Engels (University of Paderborn)

  • 09:00-09.45 Kurt Mehlhorn - Max Planck Institute for Informatics, University of Saarland and ERC
    "The Physarum Computer"
  • 09:45-10:30 Joao Claro - Universidade do Porto
    "Carnegie Mellon|Portugal – an International Partnership for Talent, Knowledge, and Innovation in ICT"

10:30-11:00  Coffee Break 

11:00-12:30  Session 5

Session Chair: Manuel Hermenegildo (IMDEA/UPM)

  • 11:00-11:45 Michael Kölling - King’s College London
    "Computer Science Education – In Defence of Programming"
  • 11:45-12:30 Pierre Dillenbourg - EPFL
    "How Computer Science Contributes to Education Research"

12:30-13:30 Lunch

13:30-15:00  Panel on Ethics

Panel Chair: José Luiz Fiadeiro - Royal Holloway University of London


  • Isabel Aldinhas Ferreira (Institute for Systems and Robotics , IST & Centro de Filosofia, U. NOVA de Lisboa)
  • Fabrizio Gagliardi (Barcelona Supercomputing Center)
  • Joao Sequeira (Institute for Systems and Robotics, IST, Lisboa) 

15:00-16:00 Closing Remarks

ECSS 2017 is organised by
logo informatics europe 80COR jpgNOVALINCS
Sponsored by   acm europe council logo sm