Log in

Follow us


Subscribe to our mailing list.

2012 Curriculum Award

Embedded and Mobile Computing

November 2012 - Award Winners and Ceremony at the ECSS 2012

The winners of the 2012 Informatics Europe Curriculum Award for Embedded and Mobile Computing were presented in a special ceremony held during the ECSS 2012 in Barcelona, Spain.

A team from Denmark, led by Jakob E. Bardram, from the IT University of Copenhagen and a team from Germany, led by Stefan Kowalewski, from the RWTH Aachen University, shared the 2012 Curriculum Award, fully organized and sponsored by Informatics Europe.

The Award ceremony was held in Barcelona, as part of the ECSS 2012 program, where the winners had the opportunity to present the achievements of their educational efforts in the area of Embedded and Mobile Computing.

The winners were selected by a committee composed of top international experts and chaired by Prof. Friedemann Mattern from ETH Zurich. A number of excellent proposals were received by the committee, which had the difficult task to select the winners in an evaluation process that run from March to August 2012.

Jakob E. Bardram received the award for the outstanding proposal "The Pervasive, Embedded, and Mobile Computing Curriculum - Preparing Computer Science Students for the Technology of the Future". The evaluation committee praised the curriculum described in the proposal as a comprehensive, well-structured, and innovative curriculum, covering a broad spectrum while focusing on novel aspects of mobile and embedded computing. Conceptual and practical topics are combined very tightly, and lab courses for hands-on experience with a variety of technologies are part of the curriculum. The curriculum has had an important impact both in terms of scientific publications and in industry adoption. The course material, refined for almost a decade, is well-structured and widely available for the community to use. The curriculum could serve as a commendable model for other educational establishments.

Stefan Kowalewski received the award for the outstanding proposal "Paving the whole path - Teaching Embedded Systems from Theoretical Foundations to Interdisciplinary Team Skills" praised by the evaluation committee for the comprehensive, well-conceived, nicely implemented, and proven curriculum on embedded systems. The committee was very pleased by the innovative set of lectures and lab courses aimed at interdisciplinary teams of students which covers the theoretical foundations of the topic and reaches to the topical domain of cyber physical systems. Theory and practice as well as software concepts and hardware concepts are well-balanced. The curriculum can serve as a role model to other Universities, in particular to those with an engineering focus.

The photos below show the winners Stefan Kowalewski (top) and Jakob E. Bardram (bottom) receiving the award plaque from the president of Informatics Europe, Prof. Carlo Ghezzi, during the Award Ceremony in Barcelona. More photos can also be seen at the highlights page of the ECSS 2012.

IECA 2012 DE

IECA 2012-DK


August 2012 - Curriculum Award Winners Selected

The winners of the 2012 Curriculum Award were chosen by the committee of top international experts from the Embedded and Mobile Computing area, chaired by Prof. Friedemann Mattern, ETH Zurich. Two proposals have been selected and the winners will be publicly announced at the 8th European Computer Science Summit in Barcelona, during the Award Ceremony, where they will present a summary of their curriculum projects.


March 2012 - First Call for Participation

Informatics Europe proudly announces its 2012 Curriculum Award, devoted to curriculum initiatives in the area of Embedded and Mobile Computing.

The Informatics Europe Curriculum Award recognizes outstanding European educational initiatives that improve the quality of informatics teaching and the attractiveness of the discipline, and can be applied and extended beyond their institutions of origin.

The Award will reward a successful teaching effort in Europe that

  • has made a measurable difference in the teaching of Embedded and Mobile Computing
  • is widely available for reuse by the teaching community
  • has made a measurable impact in its original institution and beyond it.

Examples of impact include course results, industry collaborations, student projects, textbooks, or influence on the curriculum of other universities.

The 2012 Award is devoted to curriculum initiatives in the general area of Embedded and Mobile Computing.

The Award carries a prize of EUR 30,000.00.

The Award can be given to an individual or to a group. To be eligible, participants must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the Council of Europe (www.coe.int), or Israel. Members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award Committee are not eligible. The Award Committee will review and evaluate each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals (individuals or teams).

The proposal should include:

  • Names and addresses of the applicant or applicants;
  • Indication of whether the submission is on behalf of an individual or a group;
  • Description of the achievements (max 5 pages);
  • Evidence of availability of the curriculum's materials to the teaching community (max 2 pages);
  • Evidence of impact (max 5 pages);
  • A reference list (which may include URLs of supporting material);
  • One or two letters of support. The letters of support may come for example from department management, academic colleagues in the same or another institution, industry colleagues.

 Submissions are closed!


  • Abstract (max 1 page): May 15, 2012
  • Full proposal: June 15, 2012
  • Notification of winner(s): August 1, 2012

The Award will be presented at the 8th European Computer Science Summit, in Barcelona, 20-21 November 2012, where the winner or winners (one representative in the case of an institution) will be invited to give a talk on their achievements.

Award Committee:

  • Friedemann Mattern, ETH Zurich (chair)
  • Mark Harris, InnoVaventures (vice-chair)
  • Anind Dey, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Cecilia Mascolo, University of Cambridge
  • Luca Mottola, Politecnico di Milano and Swedish Institute of Computer Science
  • Mieczyslaw Muraszkiewicz, Warsaw University of Technology
  • Michael Rohs, LMU M√ľnchen

For further inquires: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


January 2012 - Informatics Europe is proud to announce the 2012 Curriculum Award, devoted to curriculum initiatives in the area of Embedded and Mobile Computing and the nomination of the Committee chairs:

Committee Chair: Friedemann Mattern, ETH Zurich

Committee Vice-Chair: Mark Harris, Innovaventures