Log in

Follow us


Subscribe to our mailing list.

  • Home
  • Awards
  • Minerva Informatics Equality Award

Minerva Informatics Equality Award

The Minerva Informatics Equality Award recognizes best practices in Departments or Faculties of European Universities and Research Labs that encourage and support the careers of women in Informatics research and education.

On a three-year cycle, the award focuses each year on a different stage of the career pipeline:

  • Developing the careers of female faculty
  • Supporting the transition for PhD and postdoctoral researchers into faculty positions
  • Encouraging female students to enroll in Computer Science/Informatics programmes and retaining them.

The 2017 Award

The 2017 Award is devoted to gender equality initiatives and policies to support the transition of female PhD and Postdoctoral Researchers into faculty positions. It will celebrate successful initiatives that have had a measurable impact on the transition of women into faculty within the institution.

About the Award

The Award is sponsored by Google and carries a prize of 5,000 EUR.

The Award is given to a Department or Faculty to be used for further work on promoting gender equality. To be eligible, nominated institutions must be located in one of the member or candidate member countries of the Council of Europe, or Israel. Institutions associated with members of the Informatics Europe Board and of the Award Committee are not eligible.

The Award Committee reviews and evaluates each proposal. It reserves the right to split the prize between at most two different proposals.

Award Committee

  • Christine Choppy, Professor of Informatics, University Paris 13 (SPC), France (Chair)
  • Serge Abiteboul, Professor of Informatics, INRIA, France
  • Tibor Bosse, Associate professor of Informatics, VU University Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Gyöngyi Bujdosó,  Professor of Informatics, University Debrecen, Hungary
  • Monica Divitini, Professor in Cooperation Technologies, IDI-NTNU, Norway
  • Anna Ingólfsdóttir, Professor of Informatics, University Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Mema Roussopoulos, Associate Professor of Computer Science, University of Athens, Greece
  • Letizia Tanca, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, Politecnico di Milano, Milan, Italy

 Click here for the 2017 Call for submissions